Back to School News

Good morning parents,

School is back in session and I’m super excited to see everyone again. Although it was only a 2 week break, I was able to read many books, spend time with family and friends, watch a few movies, ski, and catch up on sleep. I hope your break was as restful as mine.

There are a few important announcements I’d like to make.

1) Vancouver Art Gallery

Cristina will be taking the students to the Vancouver Art Gallery on Wednesday, January 13. As it is a very popular exhibit (click here for more info), we were only able to book a 9:30am tour with workshop. This means that we will be leaving the school at 8:45am to make sure we get there on time. We will be back at lunch time. A permission form will be sent home this week.

For this outing, we will be looking for 2 parent volunteers. If you’d like to volunteer, make sure to let us know on the permission form.

 

2) Project Chef

Division 21 students will be participating in Project Chef, from January 18-22. Project Chef is an amazing 1/2 day full week food program that I’ve been wanting to be part of for the past 5 years so I’m very pleased that our class has been chosen for it.

If you’d like more information on Project Chef, click here.

For that week, we will be looking for 3 parent volunteers per morning (Monday January 18-Friday January 22, from 9am to 12:15). I will send a form home this week so that you can let me know of your availability. I hope you will be able to join us!

 

3) Political campaign projects (iMovie)

I’ve hit a few roadblocks trying to upload the students’ projects on YouTube (there’s a way to do this privately) and was unable to share their work with you during the break. I will try to find an alternative tomorrow and will let the students know of this as well. Thank you for your patience.

 

4) Reading strategies to use across the curriculum

 

Predicting, connecting and questioning happen all the time when we read. We’ve been discussing this in class over the past few months and I thought you might be interested in using these strategies at home as well when reading a book with your child. These strategies also help when writing and can be used while or after viewing a movie.

Here is some additional info, should you want to use those strategies at home.

Predictions: predicting is important and often we don’t realize we’re doing it. I did a simple Google search and came across many resources. This one should help you understand this strategy better.

Connections: proficient readers make connections all the time. There are three types of connections: text-to-self, text-to-text and text-to-world. The Read Write Think website is a great resource that can help you with this. Here’s a direct link that will tell you more about those 3 types of connections.

Questions: there are little questions (closed) and big questions (open). Some people also call them ‘thin’ and ‘thick’ questions. Little questions lead to short answers (often yes/no) and big questions lead to deep answers (and great discussions). Once again, there are an extensive amount of resources online but this one will probably be all you need to get started at home.

Other strategies: over the next few months, I would like to introduce another important strategy: inferring. I also plan on continuing to work on connections. Although the students are able to make great connections, most of them still need to work on deepening their thoughts and moving beyond the “I’m just like this character” response. To help me teaching this, I will start using Venn diagrams as well as the Inspiration app.

5) Writing: parents often inquire about ways to help their child with writing. Since there is no point rewriting something I’ve already shared , I invite you to take a look at a blog post I wrote a few years back. This blog post around writing should give you enough information to support your child. Click here to read it.

That’s it for now. I hope you have a great week!

Annie

2 thoughts on “Back to School News

  1. Hello Annie. I haven’t seen the permission slip yet, if you still require help for the field trip on the 13th to the art gallery, I am available.

    Chris Coleman (Sadie’s dad)

  2. Happy New Year! Feliz Año Nuevo! Bon ans nouvea! Hi Annie and Cristina, we are in Mexico city. Thor is very happy enjoying the weather and family here. I read the information about the Reading skills and I will try it. Can you remaind me how Thor can have communication with his class? I wil try to send some pictures, too. We will be back on January the 21rst. Have a great day! Gabriela. Date: Mon, 4 Jan 2016 15:50:04 +0000 To: greynosocerecero@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

