Winter Break #Bookaday Challenge

As you’ve probably heard me say this before, reading on a daily basis is important. Being off for a few weeks allows me to read books I usually don’t have the time to read so those are exciting times.

To challenge myself during the Winter Break, I plan on reading one book per day. The challenge started yesterday and I’m happy to report that I’m already on my second book.

Books don’t have to be chapter books and if they are, they can be read over a longer period of time. Picture books are also great books to read.

If you’d like to participate too, here are two ways for you to share your readings with myself and the rest of the world.

1) Add a daily comment to this blog post.

2) Tweet it! Don’t forget to use the hashtag #bookaday in your Tweet so that we can follow what you’ve been reading. I will be adding my readings on Twitter, using the hashtag mentioned above.

This initiative isn’t mine but comes from Donalyn Miller, a well respected author. If you’d like to know more about her, Googling her name should do the trick.

Here is what I read yesterday. It was recommended to me by Ms. Persoon, grade 6/7 teacher at our school.

image

This is the book I just started reading this morning. I’ve owned if for a good 4 years but never took the time to read it.

image

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

