Recorder – For Students

Recorder – For Students

We’ve started playing the recorder in class (German fingering). I purchased my own class set so that everyone can have easy access to a recorder. Please note that if your child owns a recorder, he/she can keep it at home to practice. If he/she wishes to take mine home, I’m ok with it too as long as the recorder comes back to school on the following day.

So far, we are learning simple rules, such as how to listen to the speaker without being distracted by our recorder and how to blow in our recorder without making it squeak on purpose. Individual lessons move much faster but as a class, it takes looo0000onger to get the same results.

The students have voted to learn an old French song. It isn’t the easiest to begin with but I think we can pull it off.

I’ve included a link to the song as I told the class I would post it on the blog. If you scroll down a bit, you will be able to read the music and listen to the song. I was gonna record it myself and write down the music but why reinvent the wheel if it’s already been done for us?

J’ai du bon tabac

Soon we will start to read our own music too. All these years playing the flute are finally paying off!

 

N.B. Recorder = flûte à bec, flute = flûte traversière

 

Leave a Reply

