Times Tables – x9

I just taught the students a new trick when multiplying by 9. We practiced right after and many students got it right away. Some didn’t quite get it but I told them not to panic because I plan on reviewing the trick tomorrow too.

I often compare learning with planting seeds. If we try to water our seeds too quickly and use too much water, the seeds will die. If we take more time and give our seeds proper care they will germinate.

Today in class we planted a new seed. We learned about the nine times table. Many of the seeds I planted (in my students) didn’t want to germinate. I chose not to over water these seeds but will try again tomorrow.

For your own curiosity, I’ve included what JUMP recommends. This strategy has been around before JUMP was created. I simply chose to use their description as it’s easy to understand.

If you decide to work on this at home, remember not to over water the seed. Discussing the strategy is a great way to encourage your child to practice. Ask him/her to teach you!

 

The Nine Times Table

Screen Shot 2014-03-10 at 5.47.59 PM

 

Screen Shot 2014-03-10 at 5.48.21 PM

Leave a Reply

