How to Support Your Child’s Teacher

Good morning everyone! I was approached by a few parents recently. They wanted to know how they can best support me in class.

Please read the following list attentively. I need your help! I can’t do it on my own and your support will be greatly appreciated. If I don’t have to spend time worrying and trying to find solutions to some of the issues we are constantly faced with in class it means I will be able to create more fun and engaging lessons as well as provide timely feedback to your child. At the moment, my batteries are running extremely low…

What you can do to help:

1. Read your child’s agenda and sign it. This must be done every day, without exception. If you can’t, ask another adult in the house to sign it for you. This is a great time to discuss your child’s day. He/she needs your support with this. An agenda is an incredibly important tool that your child needs to learn how to use effectively.

2. Sign your child’s French reading log every day. I’ve stapled a copy of it in your child’s agenda. It’s a monthly chart and it’s very easy to use. Signing your child’s reading log must be done every day, without exception.

If your child does not read in French at home, you need to be concerned. We visit the library a few times per week and it is the students’ responsibility to borrow books, in French and in English. Many students tell me that they already have French books at home but when I talk to their parents after, I hear the opposite story. There are lots of opportunities for the students to get books from the library. If they miss their chance, we also have a classroom library available. There a lots of French books in there too.

3. Read with your child a few times per week, in English. There are many great books out there. If you are looking for some excellent books ideas, you can talk to Ms. Hong, any VPL librarian or myself. I also know that Mrs. Jorgensen is an avid reader. All these people are there to help you. Don’t be shy to ask!

4. Ensure to return all material/documents being sent home to you in a timely manner. This includes permission forms, report card envelopes, parental agreements, etc. If sending money to school, make sure to put it in an envelope with your child’s name on it. When money isn’t sealed in an envelope, it can get lost or I won’t know where it comes from. 

5. Send your child to school on time. When a student arrives late to class, it impacts everyone’s learning. This is a group that is easily distracted and it takes time to recover. I am working hard to find systems to help everyone learn better and when there are too many interruptions, it is very stressful for everyone.

6. If you need to talk to me, please make an appointment. Like any professional, I also like to know ahead of time the reason of the meeting. By knowing in advance what we will be discussing together, I am able to get all the information needed to ensure we can discuss the matter right away.

Please note that meeting before the bell isn’t a good time. When the bell rings, I am expected to be working with your child and any unfinished discussion will require another meeting. He/she is a priority to me.

7. If you like something, let me know! Receiving positive feedback is important. Feeling valued is important. All teachers are the same too. If you have another child in a different class, don’t forget to let them know, too!

8. Encourage your child to be curious.  Giving worksheets to complete as homework is not part of my philosophy. I do, however, encourage my students to be curious on a daily basis. Please continue to check this blog regularly as I may at times share inspirational videos and resources with you.

9. Discuss digital citizenship at home. If you know very little about social media, it’s ok. Ask your child to teach you something he learned in the computer lab or while working with the class iPad. You’ll be surprised at how much he/she knows already!

Reviewing proper email etiquette is also encouraged at home. Take the time to send emails to family members and friends. Writing for a purpose is always more exciting and you also get to practice new skills at the same time!

Email Etiquette

Rules of the Road for Parents in a Digital Age

10. Come spend part of the day with us. Many students need help with their reading or in mathematics. Would you like to read with one of them? Do you want to participate in a Book Club meeting and listen to a group of students talk about their reading? Let me know! My door is always open.

Thanks in advance for your support,

Mme Annie

One thought on “How to Support Your Child’s Teacher

Leave a Reply

