Reading: French & Book Club (cycle #3)

Reading: French & Book Club (cycle #3)

Good evening, parents & friends! I’ve been meaning to share this info with you for a while now so here I am.

French ReadingIf you are looking for French book ideas, the following site may be of interest to you. That’s where our “Livromanie” books come from. Here are two ways to get the information needed:

1) Book selection for 2012/2013 (click on the appropriate age group on the left of the page)

2) Books selected by kids (click on the year you’re interested in on the left side of the page)

When shopping for books, Renaud Bray is the bookstore I recommend in Québec. But of course, it may also be possible to get some French books using the Vancouver Public Library. Make sure to check first as it’s always a fun way to look for books to read! Did you know that all kids living in the Vancouver area are entitled to have their own Vancouver Public Library card? They can take up to 50 books (I do this often!) if they want. Visiting a library is a great way to bond with your child and to share the love of books and of reading.

English Reading: The students have started reading a new series of books this week. One of my main goals in Grade 4 is to give them the love of reading. I love reading and I’m hoping this love will be contagious. There is nothing that makes me happier than to see one of my students getting excited about a book. Yesterday, after school, while I was talking to a parent, one of my students picked up her book and started to read. As I would tell the class, this was a true bucket filler!

Before starting this new cycle, I did a survey on Edmodo. Here are the results of the survey. Please note that the two “no” you see were mistakes and should have been recorded as two “yes”.  It’s official. The students love Book Club meetings. How cool is that?

Survey

The books that were selected for this new cycle are:

1. Hatchet by Gary Paulsen

2. Brian’s Winter by Gary Paulsen

3. Parvana’s Journey by Deborah Ellis

4. Mud City by Deborah Ellis

5. Masterpiece by Elise Broach

6. The Secret World of Og by Pierre Berton

To help your child with his/her reading, I encourage you to spend 15 minutes each night reading aloud. You should take turns and check for understanding. Here’s another blog post I wrote about reading with your child. You may have missed it so if it’s the case, you should read it too.

If you’re looking for extra book ideas, here are a few more links for you. I will add them to the “Links” section of this blog as well.

1) Annual Best List

2) Red Cedar Book Award

3) TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award

4) Newberry Medal Winners

5) Little Parachutes: Picture Books to Help Children With Life’s Challenges

6) Books That Heal Kids

Happy reading!

