How You Can Reach Me

How You Can Reach Me

Dear Parents,

I’d like to remind you of a few items that have been discussed during our “Meet the Teacher” information session. It’s getting late and I’m running out of time so I’ll be short with this message.

You can reach me by:

1) Writing a note in your child’s agenda. If what you’d like to discuss is confidential, please insert your message into a sealed envelope. So that I can prepare myself for the meeting, I also ask that you give me a brief  idea of what you’d like to discuss when we meet. I sign agendas every day and unless your child forgets to hand it in, I will see your note.

2) Calling the school and leaving a message to our school secretary. I will try my best to call you back within a reasonable amount of time but you also need to understand that I also have many other obligations. I have 28 students to look after and 28 sets of parents. This takes time.

 

The following options are not acceptable:

1) Sending an email to our school secretary. Since I don’t do emails, sending an email to Mme Toone doesn’t work either.

2) Emailing Betty and/or Darlene to ask for clarification. Parent reps are there to facilitiate communication between the PAC and yourselves. What they currently do is beyond what is required of them. I may at times send them a few messages but my main line of communication is the blog and your child’s agenda.

3) Discussing personal matters with other parents from our class or from other classes.

 

I have set up a blog so that I can inform you of some things that are currently happening in the classroom and it is important that you check it regularly. This blog has been set up so I can be in touch with you about what is going on in the classroom.

The reason why I prefer to meet with you in person is that it leads to the most productive dialogue. Emails can easily be misunderstood and since English isn’t my first language, it requires a lot more time for me to write back to you. I like to be able to sit down and relax at night without worrying about emails being sent to me at various times of the day. Over the past 10 years I have worked at this school, I have received a few emails that have made me question who I was as a teacher. I still have these emails, along with all the beautiful notes I often receive from all of you, to remind me of the good and not so good days I’ve had so far in my career.

I hope you understand that this message isn’t addressed to anyone in particular but just there to remind you all of the reasons why I do things a certain way.

Thanks for your understanding!

Annie

