News from the Computer Lab

News from the Computer Lab

We had a wonderful afternoon in the computer lab on Monday. All computers were working (this doesn’t always happen) and the internet connection was not too slow. The students were on task and all activities went very smoothly. There were many things going on at the same time but we all managed to accomplished what was on my checklist.

Here are some of the activities the students did that afternoon:

1-They completed a Book Club survey( we began a new cycle today)

I had prepared a questionnaire for them to answer, using Google Drive. This questionnaire was very similar to the one you completed when setting up Goal Setting Conferences. Working with Google Drive makes my life much easier. If you haven’t had a chance to explore it yourself, I strongly recommend you do so!

When you receive the questionnaire it looks all pretty and is easy to complete. On my side, here’s what I see when I look at the results. I’ve done a screen shot for you to see.

Screen shot 2013-03-04 at 8.04.13 PM

2-They completed a Social Studies survey (a short project will officially be starting on Monday in class)

3-They did some writing using Storybird. Here’s one of the stories my friend’s daughter wrote on her own.

4-They created a new podcast using the word of the week (peur). If I have a bit of time this evening I will try to post them up on Kidblog.

What you can do at home to support your child:

-Give him a chance to practice his typing skills (Tap’Touche is available from home as well)

-Review basic word processing skills (Control + C, Control + P, Control + A, Control + Z, center text, create tables, change font size and color, double space the work, change page setting, etc.)

-Visit Edmodo, discuss proper online behaviour

**If you haven’t opened a parent account on Edmodo, please do so! You won’t be able to see everything we are doing but you will be able to see what your child is writing. Teaching proper online etiquette begins now, when the students are still really young. It is the best time to talk about it with your child.

Online Calendar

I will no longer using the calendar I was referring to on this blog. From now on, I plan on adding most of the important activities to the students’ planner, which can be found on Edmodo. You can also access this planner when logging in onto your parent account.

Have a great evening!

Annie

