Squamish – Field Study Info

Squamish – Field Study Info

Good evening Division 9 parents!

On April 4 & 5, our class will be in Squamish, to participate in the Big House program. I’ve taken two former Grade 4 classes to Squamish and I can easily say that aside from the Québec exchange, it is the best program I’ve participated in.

In preparation for this big outing, please ensure your child has had at least two sleepovers at a friend’s house, if he/she has never been on a sleepover before. From experience, I can attest that students who have never slept away from home will not be able to fully appreciate their experience. Calls home are not encouraged so students must feel comfortable being away from home.

For this field study, I am looking for six parent volunteers, one of which needs to be a male parent. At the moment, I am not making any promises to anyone but if you would like to come, let me know by writing a note in your child’s agenda. As mentioned before, Squamish is an amazing experience but it also comes with a few responsibilities. Since I don’t want anyone to be surprised with the program, I’ve made a list of some of the responsibilities you may be given during our stay there. 

1) Be prepared to not sleep well. In middle of the night, if one of the students you are in charge of needs to go to the bathroom, you will need to get up to accompany that student. 

2) You will have about 5 students under your charge. I will be around too but will act as a “floater”. Discipline issues are dealt by me so you don’t need to worry about this. (Things will go smoothly, I am convinced!) 

3) All parent volunteers must attend a training session on March 2nd or 3rd. I will be going too. Unfortunately, there are no exceptions to this.

If you wish to know more about the program here are a few sites for you to visit. It would be great if some of the information wasn’t shared with the students as I like to keep part of it a surprise:

Outdoor School Main Site

BCTF Article

Blog Post on the Big House Program

I look forward to hearing back from you!

Leave a Reply

