Mid-January Update

Happy New Year! We’ve been back in school for only one week but so much has happened already.

 

Students are currently learning to:

-Create mind maps as a pre-writing activity

-Retrieve the main ideas out of a text and creating mind maps using the information chosen

-Summarize important information

-Write in paragraph form (all writing is now kept in a writing portfolio)

-Add 3 & 4 digit numbers

-Multiply by 9, 8 & 7 (don’t forget to continue reviewing these at home!)

In preparation for our real Book Club meetings, which should be starting next week (some of the books I’d like to use are not all in yet), students are also reading biographies (Margaret Knight, Vidal Sassoon, The Night Witches & George Washington Carver) and practicing the roles they’ll have to play during those meetings. I’ve noticed that a few students benefit from having an adult around when reading English stories. The readings are fun so don’t hesitate to make it part of your daily reading program at home.

As a reminder, it is very important to model reading to your child. Make sure to set time aside to do this as a family. Visiting the Vancouver Public Library is also a fun activity to do. I know every time I go, I always leave with a huge pile of books. Last week was no exception. I came home with 25 new books! Will I read them all? Probably not, but I know that if I need a new book to read, there will be one available.


Social Studies

We’ve also started reading a short novel in class, Le Capteur de rêves, to complement the Grade 4 Social Studies curriculum. I have borrowed over 30 picture books. many of which are from the VSB and VPL Aboriginal collections, and soon plan on creating small centres using these fabulous resources. If our schedule goes as planned, we should be starting the reading next Monday.

 

FSA Tests

FSA tests will begin this Friday. I am not sure what test will be given first but I will let you know as soon as I can. To help the students prepare for this, I’ve sent a sample of some Math questions home for this week’s “problème de la semaine”. These sample questions will be given once only. I will also have a few extra ones in class in case students are interested in doing a few more.

 

Thanks again for taking the time to visit this blog. I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

