Christmas Hampers and Turkey $

Food Hampers

Once again this year, our school is preparing food hampers for families from our sister school. A teacher friend of mine worked as a substitute teacher at that school a few weeks ago and she reported to me that many kids go to school with an empty stomach.

Another teacher friend of mine has seen two kids sharing a bottle of Coke in the morning, on their way to school. That was their food for the day. One half of the liquid was kept in its original bottle and the other half was being poured into a ziploc bag. 

I’m not here to tell anyone what to do but I think it’s important to remember that this is a reality for many kids here in BC. As I drive back home (I live on the East side) I often see people lining up in front of food shelters. 

Here’s an interesting article I found that talks about poverty in BC. I’m sure if you did your own search, you’d find many articles like this one

 

Turkey Dollars

Turkey dollars are also being collected. This will be donated to Kiwassa Neighbourhood House (that’s two blocks away from where I live!). Please send them my way if you don’t collect yours. 

I’ve included some pictures of the supply list for Division 9 students. I have put your child’s # on the proper tag and he/she also has it in his/her agenda. This was done randomly. If you feel like it is too much for you, don’t hesitate to adjust the items and the amount given. We are sponsoring a family of 5 (a mom, a dad, three girls 4, 6 and 12 years old).

HampersHampers2Hampers3

 

Thanks so much!

 

 

Leave a Reply

