Notices Home, Late Work, Signed Work by Parents

The second part of the Québec exchange is over and I can finally breathe. Many random thoughts come to mind and I hope that this post will make sense to you. If it doesn’t, don’t hesitate to tell me and I’ll try to clarify the confusing parts with you in person. 🙂

 

Parent-Teacher Communication: Parent-Teacher communication is crucial. I really appreciate it when you take the time to sign your child’s agenda and when you communicate your concerns and questions with me. I also appreciate all the positive comments you often share with me.

When feeling concerned about something going on in the classroom, or when you’d like to share some important information with me, I would prefer if you took the time to write a note on a separate piece of paper instead of writing directly in our child’s agenda. The agenda is a great tool, but the space provided is small. Students often need this space to write down what work needs to be done for the night.

 

Blog as a way of communication: I would like to thank those of you who take the time to look at this blog. It doesn’t take long and it makes my life easier. I like it better because I don’t have to send notices home and I can save paper. When a teacher doesn’t use email or doesn’t have a blog, he/she often gets criticised. Although I have chosen to not communicate with parents via email, I’ve committed to keeping a blog so as to keep you informed on some of the wonderful things we are doing in class. So yes, thanks to all of you who continue to visit this blog on a regular basis.

 

Math Celebrations: All Math Celebrations (celebration of knowledge) must be signed by you and returned to me in a timely manner. I have been holding on to the last one done while I was in Québec as I am still waiting for a few older ones to come back. Please see the picture attached to this post to see if your child still needs to return his.

 

2012-06-07_172012-06-07_17

Late Work: At this time of the year, if you would like to help your child, you should check with him to ensure there is no late work. Aside from a few students, most have late work to submit. I can only go so far as reminding them to hand it in. It is students’ responsibility to come forward and submit the work. Please spend time with your child going through his Google Docs. All these projects are being done that way.

Here’s a list of the latest projects overdue. Check with your child to see if he’s done it!

1. Reflective Journal in French – Entries #3 – #6 (dates on class calendar – on this blog)

2. Learning Log (in English) – Black History – Entries #1 – #9

3. Learning Log (in French) – Ancient Civilizations – Entries #1 – #3

4. Two written response (in French) about the CSU series. 

5. Notes, “paragraph style” (in French) for Ancient Civilization project

6. Notes, “note-taking style” (in French) for Ancient Civilization project – this is the latest step, should be ready to glue onto their poster

 

Upcoming projects:

1. Science project – seed experiment – due Thursday June 14

2. Good copy French recipe (same used for their presentation) – due Tuesday June 12

3. Ancient Civilization day – taking place all day Friday June 15

I’m sure there will be a few more to work on in class but those are the main projects students will be working on this year.

 

Grading Work & Providing Feedback: I do not grade everything but I always take the time to read your child’s work and I always provide feedback. In my opinion, feedback is more important than grades. This is the only way to get better at something. Since I spend many hours per week doing so, it is important that students take the time to read my feedback and apply changes to their work. If you haven’t had a chance to see what we do using Google Docs, ask your child to show you one of his/her French Reflective Journal entries. You’ll be amazed at how much can be accomplished that way!

 

Assessing Students & School Attendance: You may not like hearing this part but the next few weeks are very important and I will need all students in class so I can finish assessing everyone. I continue teaching until the last day of school. I said it before and will continue repeating it. School is important and I need your child to be there. Try to minimize absences as much as possible. Even though I may not be formally teaching, students are continuing their learning. They are learning to get along, to deal with difficult situations, to behave properly online, to treat each other respectfully, to be kind with each other. Teachable moments take place all the time and unfortunately, those can’t be planned ahead of time.

 

Thank You: Last but not least, thank you for your ongoing support and for the kind words I’ve received this past week. I’ve been away in Québec to spend time with my stepmom before she passed away and even though I wasn’t in the classroom physically, I continued to stay in touch with the students and I read many of their projects while away. The last few weeks were very intense and I’m grateful to have such a wonderful class and group of parents.

 

This feels like a Friday even though it’s only Thursday… (I was just about to say “Have a lovely weekend). 🙂

Leave a Reply

